In search of Snow… Part 1


After an eventful Bright trip, this time we are all set to explore the snow-capped mountains of Baw Baw Alpine National park. Winter is almost coming to an end. But we have been waiting for my parents to arrive. I had never personally experienced snow in my dear life, even the boys for that matter, except for the fancy snow city in Singapore which was very close to a giant freezer.

‘It really is a magical moment to feel the first few flakes of snow’, I thought to myself. We are actually going to see the snow-capped mountains. One should be lucky to have witnessed the snow showers in these regions as this usually happen in the wee hours.

I remembered our last year’s trip to Mount Buller with A & R, in search of snow. We made it on the first day of the snow season, the Queen’s birthday, because that was when our dear friends decided to visit us. The resort opened its mighty gates, ushering the happy souls of the little village, the snow adventurers and the snow seekers! I definitely fall in the second category. We boarded the tourist bus to the resort, happily chatting to A & R, our dreams high. R was also very excited on the thought of the snow sight for the first time. The bus was massively crowded, jam packed with the skiers and snow boarders who were carefully manoeuvring their skiing and snowboarding equipment.

The bus came to a halt and we all alighted carefully. R constantly nudged me to say how thrilled she was, and I was as excited as she was or more. Our chirpy little munchkins followed us, exchanging ideas on all the snow games that they would be doing. R & I were well geared to receive the snow. I had a puffer jacket on and a funky, thigh high , high healed ,leather boots. Come on, it is snow. We will be able to survive. We had our pretty little pairs of gloves with us too.

‘But where is the snow?’ We all had this question lurking in our minds, but none of us piped it up. We all just wanted to hang on to whatever hope that was left. The resort boasted the beauty of nature and the entrance gleamed in the first rays of sun. It proclaimed. ‘Mount Buller Ski Resort’.

 

 

………to be contd

 

Leave a comment